Az alábbi cikket a dariknews.bg nevű bolgár internetes újság közölte nemrég, innen került át később, immár angol nyelven publikálva a zamundára, az egyik legnépszerűbb (ha nem A legnépszerűbb) bolgár tracker főoldalára. (Valaki valamiért úgy gondolta, hogy ezt érdemes lenne megosztani a "fehér világgal"* is - kedves angolul tudó és információhabzsoló (honfi)társak, olvassátok sok szeretettel!)

___

"1984" = 2010 – this is the problem



I am the angry young man, the one who chose to remain in his country because I found it worth it. I heard enough about those “times” before 1989, I faced the Big Change on my father’s shoulders while he was walking across the frosty square. Later I found out enough about totalitarism from the stories of my parents and their parents. A bit later I started making the difference between democracy and totalitarism, between the freedom of speech and the Big Brother – the All-seeing Eye.

Or maybe, I thought I made the difference.

Now that it has just turned 20 years since the Big Change, I am on my way to decide that such a difference does not exist. Just a step, just a single step does the Ministry of Interior need to make and my personal inviolability shall be bereaved.

The freedom that my father marched for in the frosty winter. The freedom many others marched for. My electronic mail, my bunch of nonsense in Facebook, my SMS and my conversations – at early down and late at night; in the morning, during business hours and in the evening; in spring, summer, fall, and winter shall be controlled by the Big Brother, the All-seeing Eye or by another one – I don’t care who.

In approximately three weeks the members of the Parliament will have to finally state their ponderous word and decide the faith of my freedom.

Forestalling these three weeks, I would like as a (yet) free man in a free country to say what I think. The authorities have humiliated my grandmother by not giving her the 25 leva for Christmas because her pension is 210 leva. To that, my grandmother gave a big smile and yet bigger disdain. She will do without a turkey, oranges, bananas, whiskey, peanuts, flat sausage, fillets, a Christmas cake and other similar luxuries just because these could never be in place of her dignity. She is way above such things. She will put on her thick warm sleepers and will read a book. She will not care about Stanishev, Dugan, the King or whoever the guilty one is. She will give them, too, a big smile and yet bigger disdain. She will face the latest political decisions meekly and will say, “It all turns in history, take your granny’s word.”

However, this is not the problem.

Forestalling the three weeks, I would like as a free man in a free country to state that it is snowing because it is winter and this is normal. The abnormal part, however, is that the working man who has to get to work so he can feed a family has to crawl for hours on icy roads, in kilometer-long lines and among snow-cleaning vehicles that are “cleaning” with their shovels up. It’s not normal that he should take all that with an ironic smile and a quiet curse. It is not normal because as a psychologist said, “Apathy is the brightest sign of the social depression that has seized society.”

And yet, this is not the problem.

Forestalling the three weeks, I would like as a free man in a free country to state that I am in no way interested in some Geyso/ Meyso/ whoever guy and whether the latter was in Germany or not, nor am I interested in whether the latter crossed the Serbian border or not and whether the one spent some time in no one’s land or not. I am in no way interested in the Monkey, the Bison, the Fat Guy, the Thin Guy, the Gut, the Lizard, the Worm, the Snail or in I-don’t-know what and who. I don’t care who they are. They are a problem of the Ministry of Interior, but the Ministry of Interior does not solve the problem by just arresting them.

And yet, this is not the problem.

Forestalling the three weeks, I would like as a free man in a free country to state that when (if) the Parliament gives the final approval to the changes in the Electronic Communication Act, I shall never in a chat-room or in a phone conversation say that the authorities are strong at words and weak at action; I shall never criticize nor shall I voice an opinion out loud.

Or maybe NOT – I shall do that and yet more passionately so to make sense of that winter 20 wears ago. If I have to, I again shall stand on my father’s shoulders and shall cry from above I WANT MY FREEDOM because if they take IT from me, the little piece of the Berlin Wall once chipped off by my parents will no longer be a relic and will turn into a souvenir.

Forestalling the three weeks, I would like as YET a free man in a free country to state that I am very angry. Until recently I took pride in having lived in “those” times for too short of a time to remember them distinctly and to feel the damage.

Now I do not take pride in my reality.

Now, I am an angry young man who does not wish the services to know what I wrote, whom I wrote, what contacts I have, when and who I communicate with. And the excuse that the Ministry of Interior will function more efficiently in this way just does not work. I don’t wish anybody to keep ward over my life.

That's the way I understand liberty.

Yes, exactly so.

On July 4, 1776 in the Declaration of Independence, American senators stated: …all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.

Article 77 from the Tarnovo Constitution, voted in 1879, states: Private letters and telegraphic messages constitute a secret and are considered inviolable. The responsibility of officers who violate the confidentiality of letters and messages shall be determined by a special law.

The Constitution of Bulgaria from 1991 states: Art. 32. (1) The privacy of citizens shall be inviolable. Everyone shall be entitled to protection against any unlawful interference in his private or family affairs and against encroachments on his honour, dignity and reputation.

What is more: Art. 34. (1) The freedom and confidentiality of correspondence and all other communications shall be inviolable.

Therefore, at Christmas Eve I fear that in 2010 all that may be turned a back on, crossed out, overlooked and neglected so that we go back to George Orwell’s fictional (and not so fictional) 1984.

Because it reads, “War is piece. Freedom is slavery. Ignorance is strength.”

THIS in fact IS the problem.

Author: Dea Manolova
Source: dariknews.bg

___

*így hivatkoznak Bulgáriában sokan a "Nyugati Világra", értsenek ezen bármit is.
 

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://a3asazmilyenbetu.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr891675073

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása